The Beginning of My Greek Journey

I began this journey over a year ago but between the fact that my companions do not take the expedition as seriously as I do and the fact that my recent pregnancy was plagued with nightly migraines I have acquired very little understanding of the language. As of late I have begun moving forward on my own memorizing both vocabulary and grammar, as well as deepening my proficiency with English grammar as I am a product of California public schools.

I chose Basics of Biblical Greek because I only cared for the ability to read scripture and it seemed like the most efficient way to do so. I regret not using CAP’s Greek Alphabet Code Cracker first as I didn’t realize what a hang up the alphabet would be for me in the beginning. I hear it can be completed in a month. I use the free ANKI deck which is quite well done, as well as a Greek New Testament that I try to read from every day. Other supplemental materials I haven’t tried include a reader, audiobook, and audio vocabulary review. Greek Grammar Beyond the Basics is supposedly an excellent follow up to BBG, but I have yet to hold it in my hands so I have no opinion. Mounce’s site is difficult to navigate at first but is a plethora of free resources.

 

Things unrelated to BBG that I haven’t tried:

Reading Koine (workbook, looks fantastic!)

The Potter’s School (Greek & Hebrew)

Greek 101 from TGC (a focus on Homeric Greek)

Athenaze 

A Reading Course in Homeric Greek (also not Koine, but deserves an honorable mention)

Free resources 1 & 2

 

Leave a Reply

