School: What We’re Doing Now

For us school consists of reading, math and memory work. Other than that I have this smorgasbord of educational materials and toys that we can use during school, not during school, in the car, or take to church while I’m working. I wanted to share my smorgasbord. I recommend everything I’m including in this post.

School:

Reading Lessons Through Literature: phonogram review everyday, 3 spelling words a week, copywork of his choice on non spelling days, 5 minutes a day.

Math: Miquon, Rays or playing with the rods: his choice, at least 3 times a week, 5-15 minutes.

Memory work: Bible verses, everyday, 2ish minutes.

Bible:

Bible For Kids app from You Version (great retention)

Jesus Storybook Bible (sparks great conversations)

My ABC Bible Versus

Reading:

20th Century Children’s Book Treasury (SL 3/4)

Harper Collins Treasury of Picture Book Classics (SL 3/4)

starfall.com

Wee Sing Nursery Rhymes (SL 3/4)

Math/Logic:

Cuisenaire Rods (huge recommendation!)

Developing The Early Learner

History:

Classical Conversations Timeline Song (amazing resource!)

Geography:

Geopuzzles (everyone should own this, my son’s political geography knowledge is beyond that of most adults)

Science:

Magic School Bus (available on YouTube)

Snap Circuits

Foreign Language:

Salsa

Favorite books in Spanish

Music:

Since I’m church secretary I know what songs we’re going to sing in church and I teach him those with a YouTube playlist.

Daddy teaches piano on demand (Step by Step, the oooooooold version)

Art:

Art For Kids Hub (free)

Arttango (free)

The Big Yellow Drawing Book

Toys:

Lincoln Logs

Magnatiles (they have played with these everyday for over a year)

Wooden train tracks

Playsilk

Leave a Reply

